In April, a bipartisan group of Senators introduced the Border Security, Economic Opportunity, and Immigration Modernization Act (S. 744) to address immigration reform. While the bill provides a road to citizenship for the 11 million individuals currently without status, it denies access to affordable health care and family economic supports to individuals who pass all the requirements for lawful status. As a result, these aspiring citizens must wait between 5 – 15 years before they can see a doctor or ensure their families are not hungry. These restrictions are harmful and costly in the short- and long-term as they deny aspiring citizens the opportunity to be healthy and fully integrate in their communities. Not only do these restrictions lack common sense, they are out of touch with the majority of Americans who support access to health care and economic supports for those on the road to citizenship – without any waiting periods.

We need your help to tell the Senate to SUPPORT access to health care and family economic supports for all, and OPPOSE further restrictions on aspiring citizens and their families.

Take Action today and call members of the Senate Judiciary Committee

Suggested message:

“Hello, my name is [YOUR NAME] and I am calling to strongly urge Senator [NAME OF SENATOR] to SUPPORT Senator Hirono’s Amendments on S. 744, specifically, support Amendments 12, 16, and 17. I also urge support for Senator Leahy’s Amendment 8.

I urge the Senator to OPPOSE any amendment to S. 744 that further restricts access to affordable health, nutrition, and resources, or creates barriers to getting lawful status. Please vote NO on amendments offered by Senators Hatch and Sessions that would harm low-income aspiring citizens.

Immigrants are my family, friends, neighbors, co-workers and should have the opportunity to fulfill their American dream.”

Senator Ted Cruz (TX) / DC: (202) 224-5922
Senator Richard Blumenthal (CT) / DC: (202) 224-2823
Senator Chris Coons (DE) / DC: (202) 224-5042
Senator John Cornyn (TX) / DC: (202) 224-2934
Senator Richard Durbin (IL) / DC: (202) 224-2152
Senator Dianne Feinstein (CA) / DC: (202) 224-3841
Senator Jeff Flake (AZ) / DC: (202) 224-4521
Senator Al Franken (MN) / DC: (202) 224-5641
Senator Lindsey Graham (SC) / DC: (202) 224-5972
Senator Charles Grassley (IA) / DC: (202) 224-3254
Senator Mazie Hirono (HI) / DC: (202) 224-6361
Senator Orrin Hatch (UT) / DC: (202) 224-5251
Senator Amy Klobuchar (MN) / DC: (202) 224-3244
Senator Patrick Leahy (VT) / DC: (202) 224-4242
Senator Mike Lee (UT) / DC: (202) 224-5444
Senator Charles Schumer (NY) / DC: (202) 224-6542
Senator Jeff Sessions (AL) / DC: (202) 224-4124
Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (RI) / DC: (202) 224-2921

If you have difficulty reaching senate offices using these numbers, call the U.S. Capitol Switchboard at (202) 224-3121 and ask to be transferred.